Joint Commission Announces Board of Commissioners for 2012

The Joint Commission announced the incoming Board of Commissioners for 2012, and the Board’s decision to make the three field representatives for long term care, behavioral health care and home care full voting members.

The seven new members include:

health care executive John A. Babiarz, COO, ARAMARK Healthcare, a public member on the board; L.D. Britt, M.D., M.P.H., FACS, appointed by the American College of Surgeons; Albert J. Osbahr, III, M.D., and Stephen R. Permut, M.D., J.D., both appointed by the American Medical Association; David Pryor, M.D., appointed by the American Hospital Association; and David Henry Perrott, D.D.S., M.D., M.B.A., FACS, appointed by the American Dental Association. In addition, Joan M. Doyle, R.N., M.S.N., M.B.A., executive director, Penn Home Care and Hospice Services, University of Pennsylvania Health System (UPHS), Philadelphia, will represent the home care field as a Commissioner. Current behavioral health care field representative Michael F. Hogan, Ph.D., commissioner, New York State Office of Mental Health, and current long term care field representative Connie S. March, R.N., M.S.N., president and CEO, Provena Life Connections will become full voting members of the Board.

The Joint Commission also announced the re-appointment of Isabel Hoverman, M.D., MACP, as 2012 chair of the Board of Commissioners. Gerald Shea will serve again as vice chair.

Previously, the field representatives voted on Board committees, but not at the full Board.